September 1, 2020
7:33 pm

MCR Webinar: PubMed at the Public Library

Note the change: The series will be scheduled on the third Tuesday each month at 2pm MT/3pm CT

The new version of PubMed.gov makes accessing this research easier than ever for the general population, with automatic term mapping, best match searching, and better webpage layouts and features. PubMed is already a popular tool in life sciences libraries, because students will always have access to it while they have an internet connection.

This session if geared primary towards public librarians who might have questions about using PubMed and helping their patrons use the website as well. In this session we will:

  1. Describe the areas of research covered in PubMed
  2.  Describe the content and the history of the MEDLINE database
  3. Create a My NCBI account that customizes the PubMed experience
  4. Create a search alert

About the Presenter:
Jacob White is a librarian in the Research and Learning Department of A.R. Dykes Library at KU Medical Center. Prior to becoming a life sciences librarian Jacob worked in public libraries and non-profits around the Kansas City area. Outside the library, Jacob enjoys spending time at the lake and playing board games.

Class Date:

Region/Office: National
Tuesday, Sep 15, 2020
2:00 MT/3:00 CT

For more information or to register click here: MCR Webinar


This article originally appeared here: https://news.nnlm.gov/mcr/mcr-webinar-pubmed-at-the-public-library/. The source website for this article is NATIONAL NETWORK OF LIBRARIES OF MEDICINE (NNLM).
The original publication date for this article is September 2, 2020 12:33 am

In the Event of Real Emergency or Disaster Events, Contact CDPH PHEOC.
P: 312-742-7921